PEARL  Paleoecological Environmental Assessment and Research Laboratory

Department of Biology, Queen's University, Kingston ON, Canada, K7L 3N6


PEARL Home                       Teaching

                     Seminars    Safety

     Prairie Drought Project    Lake of the Woods Project


Climate-driven regime shifts in the biological communities of arctic lakes
| Press release Queen's University | Pearl Home | PDF of article | Original Douglas et al 1994 |  Data sources |
 


 Arctic Lake Images Click on an image below to open a higher resolution version.

 

 

 

Rock Basin Lake, Baird Inlet (east-central Ellesmere Island, Nunavut, Canadian High Arctic) was the site of the first detailed paleolimnological study from the circumpolar region, which used diatom and chrysophyte microfossils to track past climatic change. 

As climatic change is predicted to be more pronounced in arctic regions, lakes in northern locations are especially sensitive.  

 

 

 

 

 

Photograph: John P. Smol, Queen's University, August 1987

 

 

 

A typical lake from north-central Ellesmere Island, Nunavut, Canadian High Arctic. The central float of ice may persist throughout the summer during cool years in some lakes.

 

 

 

 

Photograph: Bronwyn Keatley, Queen's University, July 2003

 

 

 

 

A subarctic lake from northern Québec (Nunavik). 

 

 

 

 

 

Photograph:  Reinhard Pienitz, Université Laval, August 2002

 

Using a Glew Gravity Corer (developed at PEARL) to collect a vertical sample of lake sediments which can be extruded into slices for discrete samples.
 

 

 

 

 

Photograph: J.P. Smol

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

A mini-Glew gravity corer (developed by John Glew, PEARL) was used to collect a sediment core from a remote subarctic lake, Northwest Territories, Canada.  Here the sample was retrieved off the pontoons of a helicopter. 

 

 

 

 

 

Photograph: Kathleen Rühland, Queen's University

 

 

 

 

 

Once the sediment core has been obtained, it is sectioned into discrete layers.  Each sedimentary layer contains biological microfossils that are representative of the environmental conditions present during the time at which they lived in the lake. 

 

 

 

 Photograph:  Marianne Douglas, University of Toronto, 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

  Diploneis sp.    Photograph: Daniel T. Selbie, Queen's University

 

Diatoms (siliceous algae) are abundant and diverse components of the biota of most lakes, ponds, and rivers, and preserve well in lake sediments.  Different species are characteristic of different types of environments and the abundance of different species in the lake sediments can be used to determine past environmental conditions.  

 

 

Navicula sp.  Photograph: Kathleen Rühland, Queen's University

 

 

 

Chitinous head capsules of larval chironomids (non-biting midges, a type of insect) represent another type of biological indicator preserved in lake sediments.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sergentia  sp. Photograph: Jon Sweetman, Queen's University

 

 

 

 

Cladoceran zooplankton, such as the chydorids, are also well-preserved in lake sediments, as their carapaces are made of chitin.

 

 

 

 

 

Chydorus sp. Photograph: Jon Sweetman, Queen's University

 

PLEASE NOTE: A PDF copy of the study can be obtained from the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, or contact Dr. John Smol at smolj@queensu.ca for a copy. High resolution images are available upon request.

Contact Information for authors:

John Smol

Email: smolj@queensu.ca

Tel: +1 613-533-6147

Alexander Wolfe

E-mail: alexw@unis.no

Tel: (+47): 79 02 33 23

 

John Birks

Email: John.Birks@bot.uib.no

Tel: (+47) 55 583350

 

Marianne Douglas

Email: marianne.douglas@ualberta.ca

Tel: +1 416-978-3709

 

Vivienne J. Jones

Tel: +44 (0)20 7679 5558

 

Atte Korhola

Email: atte.korhola@helsinki.fi

Tel: +358-9-191 57 840

 

Reinhard Pienitz

Email: reinhard.pienitz@cen.ulaval.ca

Tel: +1 (418) 656 2131 ext. 7006

 

Kathleen Ruhland

Email: 3kmr5@queensu.ca

Tel: +1 613-533-6000 ext. 77337

 

Sanna Sorvari

Email: sanna.sorvari@helsinki.fi

Tel: +358 9 191 57894

 

Dermot Antoniades

Email: dermot.antoniades@utoronto.ca

 

Steve Brooks

Email: sjb@nhm.ac.uk

 

Marie-Andrée Fallu

Email: mafallu@hotmail.com

 

Mike Hughes

 

Bronwyn Keatley

 

Tamsin Laing

Email: Tamsin.Laing@rmc.ca

 

Neal Michelutti

Email: nealm@ualberta.ca

 

Larisa Nazarova

Email: larisa.nazarova@ksu.ru

 

Marjut Nyman

Email: marjut.nyman@helsinki.fi

 

Andrew Paterson

Email: Andrew.Paterson@ene.gov.on.ca

 

Bianca Perren

Email: perren@geology.utoronto.ca

 

Roberto Quinlan

Email: roberto@galena.geology.utoronto.ca

 

Milla Rautio

Email: milla.rautio@bio.ulaval.ca

 

Émilie Saulnier-Talbot

Email: emiliest@hotmail.com

 

Susanna Siitonen

Email: susanna.siitonen@helsinki.fi

 

Nadia Solovieva

 

Jan Weckström

Email: jan.weckstrom@helsinki.fi